The People’s Strictly – A Q&A with the wonderful Anna Kennedy (@annakennedy1)

It’s Mother’s Day tomorrow and as a daughter I can honestly say that mothers are amazing and inspirational. They do so much for their children and one of The People’s Strictly contestants was no exception. Anna Kennedy is in fact a supermum and we’re sure that her two sons Angelo and Patrick will be extremely proud of her.

ο»Ώ

Anna and her professional partner Robin. Pic credit to BBC
ο»Ώ

Before last night’s Comic Relief and the People’s Strictly results, we asked Anna some questions. We started by asking her this “Over the last few weeks we’ve seen you fall in love with dancing and become truly strictlified. What’s been the best part of being involved in the show?”

Anna – For me, the best part about being involved was the training and the awareness raising for autism. This was a fantastic platform to raise more awareness. So much so, after I danced the Charleston with Robin and my story was shared my retweet reach went to 5.2 million!!!

Wow! That’s incredible. You were paired with the lovely Robin Windsor and had the fantastic Jake Wood as your mentor. What was it like learning to dance with Robin and having Jake as your mentor?

Anna – I love dancing with Robin Windsor. I feel like that we have always danced together. We work well as a team and are soo in sync with each other when dancing. Jake Wood is so lovely and was very supportive and great with my sons. Making tea for Jake in my kitchen was surreal!

It’s not every day that Max Branning comes into your kitchen. We saw you perform a perfect (and extremely fast) Charleston on the People’s Strictly, earning you a well-deserved 40/40. You looked a natural. What was the most challenging part of the dance for you?

The most challenging part of performing the Charleston was definitely the facial expressions and being lifted, We had such fun with a lesson specifically on facial expressions. Receiving 4 x 10s was mind blowing!!

As a mum myself, I know that sometimes you find yourself juggling lots of things at once. How did find fitting Strictly rehearsals into your very busy and hectic schedule?
 
Anna – To be honest it was difficult to make time some weeks we had 3 sessions, others only 2 and one week we only had one session. I am a quick learner; in fact I almost learnt the whole dance in the first lesson (held together with safety pins) πŸ˜†. I am very hard on myself and Robin kept saying “Don’t be so hard on yourself Anna! It’s only our first lesson!”
You were a natural dancer and did brilliantly. If you could perform on Strictly again, which dance style would you want to perform and why?

Anna – If I was to perform on Strictly and would love to dance on the series of Strictly hint hint lol I would like the samba Since I love the music and am a good hip wiggler lol I wanted to thank everyone for their support it has been HUGE and I have had the best time ever!!!

Finally, you are a true inspiration to many and have had lots of support from all the fans. What advice would you give anyone hesitant to take up dancing? 
Dancing gives you the best feeling ever. It also helps you with posture , increases flexibility and is soo much FUN! The world would be a better place if everyone learnt to dance.


If I was to perform on Strictly and would love to dance on the series of Strictly hint hint lol I would like the samba Since I love the music and am a good hip wiggler lol I wanted to thank everyone for their support it has been HUGE and I have had the best time ever!!!


Leave a Reply

