Strictly Overheards – A Cute Dance/Strictly Overheard

For those of you who follow my blog, you’ll probably know by now that my little girl Bella is a huge strictly fan! I think glitter must run through her bloodstream as she loves Strictly so much and is the reason I started this support group.

This afternoon, she had a play date with one of her friends from school. Whilst they were playing unicorns versus pirates (just so you know the unicorns beat the Pirates with their horns because horns are better than swords) she and her friend Max were discussing their World Book Day and Sports Relief Day costumes. Yes! In March, my daughter’s school get to dress up in fancy dress costumes 3 times. Here is what happened:

πŸ‘ΈπŸ» Bella: Max, what are you going to dress up as at school on World Book Day and on Sports Relief Day?

πŸ‘¦πŸΌ Max: I don’t know yet. I think I’ll be the gruffalo and then a footballer. How about you Bella?

πŸ‘ΈπŸ» Bella: Well, I’ll be Bethany the Ballet Fairy on World Book Day and then I’ll be a Dancer on Sports Relief Day.

πŸ‘¦πŸΌ Max: That’s boring. Dance isn’t a sport because you get mud all over you!

πŸ‘ΈπŸ» Bella: 😑 No Dance is a sport because you always want try to do better than you did during the last dance and you keep practising. When you go to football on Saturday, I normally go to dance. I can’t right now because my arm is all pink and broken!

πŸ‘¦πŸΌ Max: I suppose you’re right, but you never win anything dancing, do you? I’ve got 4 trophies already at Football!

πŸ‘ΈπŸ» Bella: No, I’ve got 3 trophies and a tiara and a certificate and I’ve been dancing since I was 3. When you’re good you can do exams and get certificates. I did an exam last year and this is what I got! *shows Max her certificate* 

When you’re really good at dancing you get to go to competitions where you can win trophies πŸ† and if you’re really really good, you can go on Strictly Come Dancing and get the best trophy ever. It’s called the glitterball. It looks like a football which is covered in mirrors. You’re not allowded to kick it though because it’s not a football and Craig Revel Horwood (who’s a grumpy judge) would get angry with you! When I’m a grown-up I want to win the Strictly Come Dancing Glitterball. It’s so sparkly!

πŸ‘¦πŸΌ Max: *Looking at a strictly come dancing glitterball* It looks pretty cool. But dancing’s really for girls!

πŸ‘ΈπŸ» Bella: No it’s not! Some of the best dancers ever are boys. I have another boyfriend (other than you) who I dance ballroom dancing with. You’re still my favourite boyfriend because you let my unicorn beat your pirate! Also, Kevin from Grimsby who’s one of my favourite dancers ever and Giovanni from Strictly are boys and they are awesome! πŸ€“ Ask my mummy, she’ll let you watch them dancing!

10 minutes later after watching these two strictly moments:


πŸ‘¦πŸΌ Max: Wow, they are really cool. They’re better than *says some footballer’s name who I don’t know* When is this show on TV?

πŸ‘ΈπŸ» Bella: It’s not on right now, but will be back when we’re both six. You can come and watch it here with me and my mummy. We have parties whenever it’s on. I’ll tell your mummy so you can come here!

πŸ‘¦πŸΌ Max: Ok, it sounds cool!

So there you have it. This is how 5 year olds manage to convince others that Strictly is the best show on TV! We have another young Strictly fan after this afternoon’s play date. Thank you to my little Bella and  I hope you enjoyed reading it!
Cassie πŸ™‚ 


Leave a Reply

