Strictly Overheards – A little anecdote!Β 

For those of you who know me well, you’ll know that today was a very special day in our house for my Strictly Superfan, Bella!

Today, she competed in her first ever dance competition. She was in a category of under 7s along with her partner Jacob and was possibly one of the youngest there.

Before we went there, Bella was extremely excited whilst Jacob was nervous. I asked Bella before she performed how she felt and she said “Mummy, I’ve come here to have fun. I’ve never been in a dance competition before, so I don’t know how I’m going to do, but I’m going to have fun and do the best I can!”

I was very impressed by her maturity as well as her dance choice (a beautiful waltz.) They performed and after a very long wait and some tough competition, she and her partner Jacob came out in fourth place! 

Mummy may have shed a few tears seeing her little girl collect her sparkly medal, but nothing prepared me for her adorable speech in the car on the way home!

She told me “Mummy, I don’t mind that I didn’t win the competition or get a glitterball trophy. I made lots of friends at the competition and that’s the most important thing. It’s like on Strictly when everyone becomes friends. I wanted everyone else to win and not me because we were having so much fun! Winning doesn’t always make you happy but friends and having fun do.” 

I had a think about what she said and realised that not only have I got a very mature and wise 6 year old girl (who’s more mature than me sometimes) but Strictly has taught her an important lesson for her future!

Well done Bella. Mummy and daddy are extremely proud of you! You are a little superstar and nothing will change that. Keep dancing little one.

Cassie πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ¦„πŸ‘ΈπŸ»πŸ…

Leave a Reply

