Bella Reviews – Alana Dancing Star – Viennese Waltz – A Tale By Arlene Phillips

If there’s one thing that my 7 year old, Bella, loves as much as Strictly (and unicorns) it’s reading! She is a little bookworm and as a mum, I’ve been searching for Strictlified and Dance-Themed books to keep her occupied during the Summer Holidays and during our Summer Adventures.

Whilst searching, I came across Arlene Phillips’s Alana Dancing Star series of books and could not resist buying one for Bella. They’re aimed at dance-mad kids aged 6-10 and were almost written for Bella. Here’s what she thought of one of the books (after reading it from cover to cover in one day!)


I love reading, almost as much as I love unicorns and Strictly. I really liked this book when I first saw it because Alana looked like Belle from Beauty and the Beast and it also has a dress-up Alana doll which you can cut-out which is great fun.

Mummy told me that Arlene used to be one of the judges on Strictly, before I was born so I knew I was going to love the book before I even started reading it.

In the story Alana wants to enter the Ballroom Bonanza and dance the Viennese Waltz but she has to stay at home to look after her baby sister and cannot practice dancing.

She gets really upset and visits Madame Coco who is a costume designer who makes fab-u-lous outfits and goes on an adventure to Vienna where she gets to dance the Viennese Waltz with princes and princesses.

When she comes back, her dance teacher lets her enter the competition and she wins with her partner Matthew.

It was the best book I’ve ever read and it reminded me lots of Strictly. I liked the bit where Alana went to Vienna in Austria to dance the Viennese Waltz best as it was magical. If it was a dance on Strictly it would get a 10 from Craig and the Glitterball. I’ve asked mummy to get me all the other books as they were so good.

Thank you Bella for reviewing this book! If you or your little ones are looking for a good Strictly-themed summer read, these books are on sale from most retailers, including Amazon where they are £4.99 each. 

If you’ve read one of these books we’d love to hear what you thought. Also, let us know if you have any suggestions for summer reads for young Strictly Fans. Tell us by tweeting @scd_support or commenting below to let us know. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Cassie 🙂 

Leave a Reply

